Sandrabarracuda’s Weblog

October 6, 2008

American History 101

Filed under: Adult Homeschooling — sandrabarracuda @ 11:38 pm

I was taught American History by left-wing teachers whose glowing city on the hill was Moscow — not Manhattan.

As a first generation American, I have always had  a fierce love of and pride in  this country founded by genius intellectuals who devised a brilliant system of laws to keep men free from other men. Geniuses formed a system of government idiots could run.

At long last, I have found the intellectual historians I’ve been searching for all my life.  Paul Johnson and Victor Davis Hanson are among the most brilliant thinkers i have ever read.

In THE HISTORY OF THE AMERICAN PEOPLE, Paul Johnson has captured the ESSENCE of almost every historical event and the ideas which precipitated the events (the section on The Great Depression I have heavily underlined and postit-taped)  I had prided myself that I had inside knowledge of American History. Facts and stories that leftist historians dealt with by OMISSION.

Johnson  thoroughly understands politics and economics and is NOT part of what Arnaud DeBorchgrave has called the *dominant media culture* and 180 degrees away from Howard Zinn’s People’s History of the American People which hates everything about the founding fathers and scrambles to give credit to everyone, anyone else.

To give an example of Johnson’s  powers of persuasion, I had been convinced that Thomas Jefferson was THE genius among the founding fathers. Johnson persuaded me that Alexander Hamilton’s contributions in the field of fiscal policy were not to be ignored and illuminated the reasons for Jefferson’s personal financial downfall (he never had an accurate overall view of his financial position), and spent way beyond his means: there never seems to have been a luxury imported from London  he didn’t love and indulge in. He was our first credit card junkie.  On a moral level, it made it impossible for him to do what he knew was right: free his slaves
.
Johnson’s criticisms of Monticello, an eccentric architectural project (1768-1824) which was not only unfinished for many years but uncomfortable and impractical also impressed me.

My second favorite intellectual and military historian is Victor Davis Hanson who vowed to write an essay a day after 9/11 and has pretty much done just that. I first read his book CARNAGE AND CULTURE, a study of 9 great battles and how the West won and why the West always wins. Not because we’re better but because we’re free. We won the battle of Tet but were told by Walter Cronkite that we’d lost. I never forgave Cronkite and acquired deep distrust of the main stream media.

The Hanson book which most inspires me is THE SOUL OF BATTLE, which covers 3 great generals. George Patton is one. Tecumseh Sherman is another. I have read those two sections many times. The third about a Theban general I will read when Hanson publishes his novel on said general.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

